Skip to content

Florence Stroud Pioneer Awardee: Willard Harris

Florence Stroud Pioneer Award 2023

I have often said, I wanted to receive my flowers while I was able to see them and smell them. Well today, you have given me my flowers and truly appreciate it.

— Willard Harris

Florence Stroud Award Summary

Every year the Bay Area Black Nurses Association (BABNA) selects a nursing pioneer in honor of the late Florence Stroud, who co-founded the association. She was a public health advocate for the improvement of care for the underserved and an innovator for addressing health disparities. The Florence Stroud Pioneer Award is given to nurse leaders who stand for health equity, justice, innovation, and advocacy for the improved health of vulnerable communities as well as a higher quality health care system. Willard Harris was honored with this award in February 2023 as part of the Kaiser Permanente/BABNA Black Nurses Conference.

Kaiser Permanente has promoted equity, diversity, and inclusion in its workforce and amongst its members since its inception and has partnered with BABNA for many years. The history of Kaiser Permanente’s Black nurse leaders rising to the call of representing the interests of Black nurses can be found in the article, Black Nurses Get Together to Forge their Own Future.

Link to video clips:

Clip One Clip Two
Back To Top